Heaven on Earth – Smashburgers and Gleason’s Boxing Gym!

tshirt 1

After the very bumpy descending of the plane through a New York rainstorm and an extremely hard landing, (with passengers screaming – not me though…), which made me think for a moment that our plane had actually crashed, I had made my way to one of my favorite places. New York City.

I had come to a city with some of the best restaurants in the world. Given the fact that I am a great lover of food it was a bit funny that one of the highlights of this trip for me was the visit to “Smash-burgers” in New Jersey – an upscale fast-food burger place, where I ordered a burger with portobello mushrooms in truffle oil. It was so good that I did not stop talking about it. And even now, a few weeks later, I am still thinking about it. So, if you have the opportunity and want to make yourself happy, go to Smash-burgers!

But this was not the end of highlights. I had planned to visit a real, old time boxing gym where I could watch people train and box. It was just like in the movies. I am not exaggerating. I walked through the streets of Brooklyn, just underneath the Brooklyn bridge, past a Sushi bar and a Starbuck’s, up the stairs, through a door and stepped into the boxing world of Gleason’s Gym. The oldest boxing gym in the United States that produced over a hundred World Champions. I could tell there was history in this place. Muhammad Ali had boxed here… I could just feel the sweat that this place had seen.

There were two boxing rings set up, lots of heavy bags, double ends bags and speed bags for training. And people were everywhere, punching the heavy bags, doing jump ropes, shadowboxing, liftting weights, doing other cardio workouts….Training was happening all around me.

And right at the moment I walked in two women were taking turns sparring with a skinny, muscle machine trainer and sparring partner. The women kept taking turns and eventually they boxed with each other. How great to see that, as I had never see other women box live in front of me!

I had brought my two women friends and we were all standing around the ring, watching. We were squeaky clean and nice looking women and we did stand out a bit, I must say. It was amazing that there was no attitude whatsoever from the male boxers around us. Everybody was extremely friendly, curious and encouraging. The trainer repeatedly invited me into the ring, which I vehemently declined, telling him I wasn’t ready yet. “We definitely created a buzz”, as my friend commented.

Leave a Reply

